After graduating from an accredited or approved physical therapist education program, a student must pass a national examination and meet licensure requirements of the state in which they wish to practice. The Midwestern University Physical Therapy Program curriculum has been designed to satisfy the criteria for approved physical therapy programs as stated in the Illinois Physical Therapy Act.

Midwestern University’s Doctor of Physical Therapy program meets the educational requirements for licensure to practice as an physical therapist in the following states and territories: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Puerto Rico, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, U.S. Virgin Islands, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming.

Each student should check the additional licensure requirements for the state, district or territory in which they intend to pursue employment.